Gopal Ethiraj elected The Hindu union president for third time

Chennai, 06 April
E. Gopal (Gopal Ethiraj) has been elected as president of The Hindu Office and National Press Employees’ Union for the third consecutive term on March 31. M. Kamalanathan is elected as general secretary, also making an hat trick with the president.
E. Gopal (Gopal Ethiraj ), president, and Kamalanathan, GS of The Hindu Union

An official statement said that M. Davaseelan and P.R. Perumal were chosen as vice-presidents, S. Martin Thomas as joint secretary and P. Jayarathinam as treasurer.

As many as 16 candidates were elected as executive committee members. They are: V. Premanand, K. Sridhar, Y.K. Laksmipathy, M. Jothi, S.A. Karthikeyan, S. Sankaran, E. Manohar, K. Ganesan, E, Sengutavan, G. Rajendran, V. Chakrapani, T. Selvaraj, M. Kirubhakaran, B. Sekar, M. Balasubramanian and T. Karthikeuyan.

The newly elected team took charge at the annual general meeting held here on Wednesday. Their tenure will be for three years. They took the blessings of the directors of Kasturi & Sons Pvt. Ltd., which publishes The Hindu, The Hindu Tamil, BusinessLine, Front Line and Sports star.

It is to be noted that Gopal is a practising advocate with the Madras High Court, after his retirement with The Hindu as Chief Sub Editor. He is also Lok Adalat panel member, Commissioner of Oaths, appointed by the High Court. Recently the Governor of Tamil Nadu Shri K Rosaiah has nominated him as Senate Member of the Bharathidasan University, Tiruchy.

Source: Asian Tribune