Seasonal festivals of Hinduism

Diwali_Festival_In_India2012_freecomputerdesktopwallpaper_1920The dominant human tendency is to celebrate every joyous occasion. Most of the religions of the world include joyous festivals in their calendars. Hinduism is not an exception to this. In fact, Hindu philosophers and social leaders very skillfully combined the human proclivity for celebrations with religious and seasonal factors. Long cultural history coupled with various religious traditions have added special flavor to these festivities from region to region in India.
According to the Hindu calendar, a year is divided into six distinct seasons: spring, summer, monsoon (rainy), sharad (very pleasant season between monsoon and fall), fall, and winter.