Ryan girls top football tournament

NAVI MUMBAI: Riding on its leading striker Sejal Nakhawa’s impressive show throughout the tournament, Ryan International School of Sanpada (RIS-Sanpada) notched up a fantasticvictory over Bal Bharati Public School (BBPS) of Kharghar in the title clash to lift the under-19 girls’ CBSE Cluster West Zone Football Championship held at Kolhapur recently. As many as 16 teams were in the fray. Having won the zonal championship, RIS-Sanpada will fight it out at the CBSE nationals, to be held at Hosur, Tamil Nadu, from December 11 to 15.

Out of 26 goals collectively scored by the champion team, Sejal Nakhawa scored 10 and was awarded the player of the tournament. In the final, RIS -Sanpada took on BBPS to overcome the challenge with a 2-0 lead.

“I am proud of the girls who brought us victory. We are looking forward to bag the national title,” said principal Manmit Behel of the winning school. Earlier in the semifinal, RIS-Sanpada beat Yavatmal Public School 3-0 with Bhagyashree Dalvi scoring all three goals. In the two crucial league matches, RIS-Sanpada dominated with record margin by defeating Delhi Public School of Surat 11-0 and Paramount Academy, Barwani, Madhya Pradesh with 10-0 lead. Nakhawa scored 6 and 3 goals respectively in the league matches.

The winning team had Sakshi Raut (captain), Vaishnavi Eache, Kalyani Kodavagatti, Simran Sikhwal, Sampada Waman, Aditi Agarwal, Sejal Nakhawa, Tarannum Shaikh, Tripti Sharma, Mansi Samre, Bhagyashree Dalvi, Aarti Rawat, Priyal Golchha, Bhumika Nagpure, Vaishnavi Ambekar, Anjali Ram, Sasha Rana, Amruta Plave.

Source: Times Of India